1982 Junior C Football Final



Syddan captured their first championship title since 1956 when getting the better of Duleek in a scrappy Div 2 FC final at Pairc Tailteann. Remarkably Duleek failed to score a single point for the hour and yet when substitute Gerard Meegan fisted in their second goal in the 58th minute it looked as if they might save the day. Despite sporting six of the side which captured intermediate honours four years earlier , Duleek turned in a diabolical display and were fortunate only to lose by the minimum margin. Syddan weren’t overly spectacular either but their youth and determination enabled them to dominate for decisive spells. With a little more sharpness in attack their supporters would not have had to sweat it out in the closing stages. However the winners did have forwards capable of kicking the ball high between the posts and it mattered little in the end that three of their points came from placed balls. Syddan could be especially thankful for the contribution of the Duff duo, Gerard and Brian who notched five points between them and were among their sides most noteworthy performers. Brian Duff put Syddan ahead after just three minutes before Duleek hit back with the first of their two scores in the 12th minute when Oliver Cudden flashed a low shot to the net. However Syddan regained the iniative and points from Brendan Weldon and Brian and Gerad Duff left them 0-4 to 1-0 to the good at the break. After recording three wides at the start of the second half Syddan eventually doubled their advantage through Eamonn Duff. When Gerard Duff added two more points Syddan seemed to be cruising to an easy victory. They faced a few anxious moments late on through when Meegan nipped in for their second goal following a pass from Malachy Cullen. After the game county chairman Brian Smyth presented the cup to Syddan captain Theo Dillon.

SYDDAN – J Meade; H Byrne, E Young, J Carragher; D Kane, J Gosling, D Carolan; P Carolan, T Dillon; G Duff 0-3, E Duff 0-1, B Weldon 0-1; M Duff, K Clare, B Duff 0-2. Sub: J Duff for Clare.

DULEEK – K Powderly; Peter Crosby, P Watters, J Mooney;Pat Crosby, P Joyce, A Watters; J Maguire, M Cullen; J Davis, S Fleming, O Cudden 1-0; T Geraghty, P Cullen, V Ludlow. Subs: A Callaghan for Peter Crosby, G Meegan 1-0 for Ludlow.