1951 Meath Senior Football Final



Despite the inclemency of the weather a large crowd turned out to witness Syddan defeat Skryne by five points in the SFC final at Pairc Tailteann. It was a richly deserved victory for the boys from Syddan who produced a very polished display against formidable opposition. With several intercounty players involved it made for an interesting affair while the presence of St Mary’s Brass Band, Navan added to the occasion. With both finalists having proud records to their credit it proved a keenly fought contest with little to choose between the sides throughout the opening half. However the longer the game went on the more Syddan began to dominate. Patsy Weldon had the ball in the net early on for Syddan but the score was disallowed. After George Clare broke up a Skryne attack, Syddan went on the offensive with Paddy Meegan setting up Seamie Duff for the opening point. Skryne equalised through J Clarke but Syddan then swept down field and Eamonn Meegan finished to the net. Brian Smyth secured Skryne’s second point and soon after Micheal O’Brien converted a 14 yard free. The Tara men recorded two wides before Brian Smyth pointed under pressure for the equalising score. A long drive from Seamie Duff set the Syddan forwards into action and Paddy Meegan finished the move with a point. Skryne again equalised, McGuinness the scorer this time and they went ahead for the first time following another McGuinness point. They doubled that advantage just before the break with a point from Johnston to lead 0-7 to 1-2 at the break. The sides swapped points at the start of the second half, Paddy Meegan on target for Syddan and Micheal O’Brien replying for Skryne.Syddan regained the lead with a goal following a goalmouth melee and Paddy Meegan then added a quick point. That was followed by a third Syddan goal from Patsy Weldon and Seamie Duff then pointed from long range. Skryne’s only response was a pointed free from Micheal O’Brien.

SYDDAN – T Duff; J Cluskey, J O’Brien, F Clare; G Clare, M Maguire, K McConnell; P O’Brien, K Clare; P Meegan, T Farrelly, W Halpenny; E Meegan, P Weldon, S Duff.

SKRYNE – P Donnelly; J Reilly, J O’Brien, W Browne; P Brady, P Kane, T Kane; P McGuinness, T O’Brien; N Collier, M O’Brien, B Smyth; J Clarke, M Clarke, C Johnston.

Referee – P Russell (Oldcastle)