1992 Junior C Football Final



THE lowest grade of football in the county produced probably the most entertaining decider of the year at Pairc Tailteann. It was end to end stuff for the full hour from two fully committed sides with the poor finishing of the respective forward division the only dull aspect of an otherwise exciting encounter. It was Syddan’s first championship in a decade and the North Meath side richly deserved their success. They were punished for some early misses when Moynalvey responded with three points in a four minute spell to lead 0-4 to 0-2 by the 25th minute. However the closing minutes of the opening half was to be Syddan’s most productive as they registered four unanswered points to lead 0-6 to 0-4 at the break. Those points came from Eddie Donohue, Trevor Gilsenan (free), and Noel and Eamonn Duff. Donohue who was his sides liveliest forward in the first half also accounted for an earlier score with the other point coming from a Gilsenan free. Paul Norris, John Caraher and captain John Dillon all excelled in the Syddan defence in the opening period while keeper Declan Halpenny made a crucial save on the stroke of half-time. Moynalvey’s prospects received another setback a minute into the second half when Syddan midfielder John McKenna pulled on a loose ball from the edge of the square to rocket a shot into the top corner of the net. That left Syddan five points clear and it proved the difference at the finish. Moynalvey reduced the deficit back to two points with 10 minutes remaining. Trevor Gilsenan had a great opportunity to spoil a tense finish as he stepped up to a penalty awarded for a foul on McKenna. However his effort was struck straight at keeper Mick Brennan who made a comfortable save. Gilsenan made amends shortly afterwards though with his fourth point as his side held on to take the title. After the game county chairman Fintan Ginnity presented the cup to winning captain John Dillon.

SYDDAN – D Halpenny; A McKenna, T Gosling, J Caraher; P Norris, J Dillon, D Carolan; J Farrelly, J McKenna 1-0; E Duff 0-1, N Duff 0-1, T Gilsenan 0-4; E Donoghue 0-2, S Rafferty, N Mooney. Sub – C Weldon for Rafferty.

MOYNALVEY – M Brennan; O Regan, D Smyth, R Dunne; M Regan, G Fagan, P Brien; Z Donoghue, T Regan 0-3; D Dixon, C Maguire, J Thornton; J Gilsenan, G Thompson 0-2, G Williams 0-4. Subs – N Thompson for Dunne, R Melia for Gilsenan.

REF – B McCluskey.