1952 Meath Senior Football Final



THIS final, watched by an attendance of 1500, wasn’t played until January 4th 1953 and following a hard night’s frost the Pairc Tailteann pitch was rock solid. Old adversaries Skryne had ample opportunities to dethrone champions Syddan, especially throughout the opening half when they had the upperhand. However their finishing was wayward and despite having the majority of the chances only led 0-3 to 0-2 at half-time. The champions were definitely rattled in the first half and produced only a shadow of their true form. Led by a sparkling performance from Paddy Meegan Syddan were a different team in the second half and their never-say-die attitude helped them gain the upperhand. They showed themselves to be true champions as they came good at a vital stage with Kevin McConnell, Mattie Maguire and George Clare outstanding in defence Phil O’Brien and Tom Duff at midfield, with Meegan pulling the strings in attack along with Seamie Duff and Patsy Weldon. Skryne were first to score when Brian Smyth pointed from a difficult angle. Tom Duff was denied a goal by a brilliant save from Skryne keeper Joe Allen before Meegan opened his sides account with a point on 10 minutes. Four successive wides followed for Skryne before Niall Collier shot them ahead and shortly afterwards Cyril O’Brien obliged with a point. At this stage the challengers exercised a territorial advantage but they had left their shooting boots at home. Tom Duff brought the first half scoring to an end with a point from long range. On the resumption Micheal O’Brien set up Cyril O’Brien who notched Skryne’s fourth and final point. There followed three further wides at the Syddan end before Patsy Weldon pointed with a goal at his mercy. Paddy Meegan shot the equaliser at the three quarter way stage before Seamie Duff pointed the champions into the lead. Weldon and Meegan added further points as Syddan finished strongly to add more misery for Skryne.

SYDDAN – T Duff; J Cluskey, K McConnell, F Clare; M Maguire, G Clare, K Clare; P O’Brien, T Duff; P Meegan, S Duff, P Weldon; E Meegan, J O’Brien, M Heery. Sub – G Gaughran.

SKRYNE – J Allen; P Kane, J O’Brien, W Browne; P Brady, M O’Brien, J Reilly; P McGuinness, T Brien; N Collier, B Smyth, N Smyth; C Johnston, C Brien, D Brien. Sub – M Clarke.

*A notable double was completed after Syddan got the better of Oldcastle in the Feis Cup final following a replay. The drawn match ended Syddan 0-7, Oldcastle 1-4, but with Paddy Meegan scoring all of his sides tally Syddan won the replay 0-9 to 1-3.